Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_1262.JPG

I’m heading up to Washington to spend three days with one of my favorite music groups, the Dave Matthews Band, at the most beautiful venue on Earth, the Gorge Amphitheater. I’ll be back on Monday to begin the second part of my journey – touring down the West Coast. As for now, I’m going to be completely present with my forthcoming experience, this band is cathartic for me and I don’t want to miss a second of it. In this moment though, I have to tell the story of Medicine Wheel.

Before I left for this trip, my friend Randy told me the Medicine Wheel in Big Horn, Wyoming, was difficult to find. Weaving my along the switchbacks through the mountains, both that evening and the next morning, it proved to be impossible for me to locate. Camping at Bald Mountain, filling the water bottles in the stream, I couldn’t shake the feeling that the water was trying to talk to me. The air hung heavy with the curtain of illusion though, and the peeks behind it were drowned out by my thinking mind. My mind is dying to see things, it wants to be first in line when the magic comes, but no matter how much it sees these days, it still doesn’t believe. My body is relaxed, already connected; only through this temple can I enter into the mysteries.

I stopped at a gas station on my way out of Big Horn, and happened to glance at a postcard. There was the Medicine Wheel, just over the hill from where I was camping. No wonder the curtain was so thin, no wonder I couldn’t find it. I wasn’t prepared for it to find me, the whispering stream was more than enough. Maybe someday I will be ready.

The Native American’s main reason for building this Wheel was to communicate with the star beings. Aliens, as we call them. It’s about to get real hippy, crunchy, psychedelic crazy over here. My whole life I’ve been attracted to a certain grouping of seven stars. Every time I look up at the night sky it’s the first grouping I see, and I stare and stare and stare at it. When I was in Ojai for a teacher training, my friend Alejandra and I were in the hot tub and I was looking up at that particular constellation. “You’re looking up at the Pleiadian grouping, aren’t you?” “The what?” I questioned. She proceeded to tell me the story of how our Higher Selves were asleep up there, and we were down here on Earth, fulfilling a purpose. The point is to not remember, but when she went to sleep she was determined to remember where she came from.

I’m skeptical as always, but the conversation left me with goosebumps, and new information to chew on. After I returned home, I was suddenly having conversations about this topic with the most random people, and they were the ones initiating it. Hmmmm…..

The Native American myth of Devil’s Tower (remember that piece of Ma?) is that seven sisters were playing one day when a black bear happened upon them and decided to attack. The sisters implored of the ground, “please raise us up to safety!” The ground began to rise, while the bear scratched the sides. The ground rose so high that the sisters became the constellation of Pleiades, and we can still see the bear’s scratch marks on the tower to this day. Ok, so, Native Americans were telling this story thousands of years ago, and a completely different tribe was building a wheel to the star beings, the Woodland people of the Effigy Mounds were thought to be descendants of Atlantis, rumored to be the most advanced civilization in our recent history, and in communication with these star beings. This is all getting to be a little too coincidental, even for my practical, scientific mind.

I’ll probably talk more about this once the connections start to come together, right now I have too many random threads, and I’m unable to form a cohesive web. Plus the road is really winding through the mountains and I’m feeling a little carsick. I’ll leave with this thought: educate yourself as much as you can, question everything, tell your truth, and never stop believing in myths, old stories and fairy tales. Life is richer and more vibrant when you do.